chrissy

This photo is courtesy of Marc Battaglia's Flickr PhotostreamI have this friend who is practically my room-mate -- she is my co-worker. We have been working with each other for about a year and a half now and have come to the conclusion that she is....well...yea... Awkward. But please don't confuse this word with weird or odd or unpleasant because she is none of those things, she can give you some of the best moments of your life.

There are 4 of us at work that are pretty close, we live in a basement, and each have an awesomely awesome one word characteristic – Chrissy (@Cagrabek13), we all should know by now is…awkward, Luke (@Ltrayser), who we all “LLAS” – Love like a sister and Ashley (@Acegrl), the gerbil. We totes like to have fun at the office.

Anyways, each of us except Chrissy have set up a blog, each about different topics. In the line of work we are in, it helps our creativity and puts us at the forefront of our field. So now…Chrissy is pursuing the voyage of being a blogger. She knows she is awkward and isn’t ashamed to admit so the journey of setting up a blog begins…

It was yesterday that I was approached by Chrissy. She said, “Krystin…I’m gonna set up a blog, what should the title be?” This put me on the spot especially because she was sitting in my office looking at me like I was going to start giving her 1,001 ideas and “Afternoon Delight” would start playing through the speaker above us . I told her I’d think about it. In the mean time here is the time-line of IMs (instant messages) I received and my replies.

l*vs2*****: UGH IDK WHAT TO TITLE THIS
l*vs2*****: What if I title it…IOftenForget.wordpress.com and then my tagline could be… “You’re cute, what’s your name again?”
l*vs2*****: Im basically copying 10 things I hate about you.

k**ola*: hmmm
k**ola*: it took me a long time to think of a name for my blog
k**ola*: so just really think about it

l*vs2*****: I wanna make it sound like a scatter brain
l*vs2*****: like im all over the place

Here are a few things I told her.

From my personal experience, think about what you are going to be writing about. Once you have that pinned down, take those ideas and start describing them. Take five, six, or seven of those descriptive words and start a word document. Under each term apply all of it’s synonyms and even a few antonyms. After this documents if filled with words, you can begin to form sentences. This process is actually a lot of fun. here are some of the combination’s Chrissy & I came up with or that we hysterically made-up on our own.

  • MAAATheMeatLoaf.wordpress.com
  • AwkwardsTurtle.wordpress.com – This one is taken by the way.
  • IndulgentDivulgence.wordpress.com
  • IFallAlot.wordpress.com – We agreed this one is totally emo.
  • IDontRemeberWhatThisisCalled.wordpress.com
  • HitorMiss.wordpress.com
  • SideSplittingHeadache.wordpress.com

After all of this “brainstorming” I jokingly suggested AwkwardIngedients.wordpress.com, tagline – unseasoned content with a flavored personality. And resulted in this commentary…

l*vs2*****: Im likin it.
l*vs2*****: I can make my header have just random shit
l*vs2*****: LOL
k**ola*: of what?
l*vs2*****: like a rutabega and a turnip.. maybe some thyme and then like anchovies
l*vs2*****: LOL
l*vs2*****: wtf am I making
k**ola*: hahaha
k**ola*: ewww
l*vs2*****: who knows its just awkward
l*vs2*****: lol

And from here we made history. Ladies and Gentleman I am honored to present to you AwkwardIngredients.wordpress.com. Give her some love!!! Also, don’t forget to check out CommonVents.com and AceSpot.wordpress.com.

Here are a few more tips on setting up a blog:

  • Before you go setting up your wordpress blog, make sure you have the domain you want because you won’t be able to change it.
  • I suggest finding an appropriate title for you never know who is going to be looking at your blog, i.e., your boss, your clients or your grandma
  • Choose a template with a custom header this way you can create your own
  • Try to create an entry at least once a week
  • Take your time
  • And ALWAYS share. Post to twitter, bookmarking and seeding site, facebook, email, etc.